Welcome to the Canandaigua USBC Association Website

Association Tournament Complete
FINAL results below. 

Canandaigua USBC Association Tournament
Monday April 17, 2017 at 7:00pm
Friday April 14, 2017 at 7:00pm
Wednesday April 26, 2017 at 7:00pm (proprietor squad)
Thursday May 4, 2017 at 7:00pm
Click Here for Association Team Event entry form
Click Here for Doubles and Singles entry form
Click Here for FINAL Standings (05/04/17) OFFICIAL
Click Here for the Prize List

Hasiotis Goes Back to Back at the Canandaigua USBC Masters
April 2, 2017
Roseland Bowl, Canandaigua, NY

Pictured is champion Bill Hasiotis, Tournament Director Jon Barkley and runner up Scott Dingman

1.Bill Hasiotis236 (1 game)$425
2.Scott Dingman   359 (2 games)$250
3.Brian Wright      421 (2 games)$200
4.Bill Stoddard190 (1 game)$150

Bill Hasiotis successfully defended his Canandaigua USBC Masters title with a 236-144 victory over Scott Dingman in the finals.  The victory was the Greece NY native’s 2nd victory in as many tries in this event. 

Hasiotis won from the tournament leader’s position after finishing 5th in qualifying.  He took over the #1 spot in the very first game of match play with a 225 game and only lost the top spot 1 time over the 8 games and posted a 6-2 match play record which was best of the 8 bowlers.  He posted a tournament best game of 267 in game 6 and did not look back after that.

The first match of the step ladder finals saw third seed Bill Stoddard from Henrietta take on four seed Brian Wright from Farmington.   This match was a close in the first half of the game as each player was striking and keeping their ball close to the pocket with Stoddard having a small lead into the 6th frame but a late double by Wright in the 7th and 8th frame sunk Stoddard’s chances as he struggled at the end of the game.  Wright was able to shutout Stoddard in the 10th frame and wins by a score of 224-190.  Stoddard ends up in 4th place.

Wright’s next match was against two seed Scott Dingman from West Henrietta.  This match was the closest match of the three as each player started slowly and then both players started stringing the strikes.  The turning point of the match was an error by Wright leaving a 1-2-4-10 washout which he was not able to convert.  Dingman took full advantage of the mistake by doubling to take the lead for good.  Dingman finishes with a 215-197 victory to move on to the finals against Hasiotis.  Wright finishes in 3rd place.

The title match was a dominating performance by Hasiotis as he struck on his first six shots while Dingman struggled to find his line leaving difficult spares.  Hasiotis’ lead was 80 pins when he broke off his perfect game opportunity.  Each bowler finished out their game with Hasiotis winning 236-144 to win the title.  Hasiotis picked up a check for $425 for the victory and a champions plaque.

Hasiotis about his title:  “My game plan for the finals was to strike early and put pressure on Dingman, which I was able to do.  I threw the ball well both days.  I was very accurate, hitting my mark consistently.  I only Missed 2 spares in qualifying and 2 in match play”.  When asked about his success in this tournament the past 2 years, Hasiotis replied “ I would contribute my success over the past 18 months to several changes and improvements I have made to my game.  I made some pitch changes, started using a thumb mold for a more consistent feel between balls, drilled a few more balls to fill in holes in my arsenal, got better at spares and found a flaw in my timing which helped me to execute and make better adjustments.  From all of this my confidence has improved and I have learned to manage my game under pressure. 

Jay Johnson wins the 2016-17 Canandaigua USBC Senior Tournament
March 11, 2017
Roseland Bowl

Pictured is runner up Trey Talbott, Tournament Director Jon Barkley, and Champion Jay Johnson

1.Jay Johnson$400
2.Trey Talbott $200
3.Curt Walborn$100
4.     Paul Schrader      $100

Scores – Round of 8
Trey Talbott def Dolly Acquilano 232-225
Paul Schrader def George Inslee 216-199
Curt Walborn def Angelo Comella 264-222
Jay Johnson def Lynn Tucker 241-221

Scores – Round of 4
Talbott def Schrader 263-218
Johnson def Walborn 254-181

Johnson def Talbott 252-232

Jay Johnson won his 1st Canandaigua USBC Senior Tournament title by defeating Trey Talbott 252-232 in the championship match.  The final match was a close match throughout as each player was unable to double in the first 5 frames and they each filled their frames to be tied at 79 thru four frames.  They key frame ended up being the 6th frame as Talbott left a ringing 10 pin on a great shot.  He picked the spare but Johnson took full advantage posting a four bagger to extend his lead to 21 pins (35 with handicap) in the 7th frame.  Talbott had a chance in the 9th and 10th frame to strike out and force Johnson to mark in the 10th but a 3-6 leave in the 9th sealed the victory for Johnson.

  Johnson picks up a $400 check for the win.  Talbott picked up $200 for his 2nd place finish.  The tournament had a record 35 entries so thanks go out to all the participants.

Winners named for the Michael Personale Youth Association,the NYS Scholarship Tournament and the Pepsi Tournament
Click here for the MP Tournament
Click here for the NYS Scholarship Tournament
Click Here for the Pepsi Tournament

Paul Schrader wins the Canandaigua USBC Handicap Sweeper
November 12, 2016

Pictured from left to right is runner up Edwin Moore, Champion Paul Schrader, and Tournament Director Jon Barkley

Scores – Round of 4
Edwin Moore defeats Don Sheive  231-213
Paul Schrader defeats Debbie Potter 230-223
Schrader defeats Moore 246-192

Paul Schrader won the Canandaigua USBC Handicap Sweeper  title by defeating  Edwin Moore in the finals by a score of 246-192.   The final match started with both staying clean for the first three frames but then Moore left a 1-3-6-7 washout and then only got one pin on a double to lose the lead he would not recover from.  The match stayed close until the seventh frame when Moore went back to back opens and then Schrader tripled from the seventh until the ninth frame to seal the match and the title.  Schrader earned  $135 for the win.  Moore picked up $85 for his 2nd place finish.

Canandaigua USBC Annual Meeting Wrap Up.
At our Annual Meeting on May 19th, we did not have a quorum to have a meeting.  A new meeting was scheduled for Tuesday September 13th at Roseland Bowl and that meeting had a quorum.  A new bylaw resolution based where the Annual Meeting quorum number was adjusted from 30 to 15 due to declining membership.  Also, the following people were re-elected to a new 3 year term effective 8/1/16.

President – Sonja Personale
Director – Paula Shoff
Director – Stephanie Alexander
Director – Don Yarger

212 bowlers bowled in the 9th Annual Bowl for the Cure Bowl-a-thon on Friday Feb 3 and Saturday Feb 4, 2017.

We will be announcing in early May what our donations will be for the 2016-17 season.

Links to other bowling websites
Would you like to join the Canandaigua USBC Association board?

Click here for application
Facebook is a registered trademark of Facebook, Inc
This page was last updated: May 10, 2017